The 2021 Buster Posey National Collegiate Catcher of the Year Award is given annually to the- wait for it- top Division-I catcher. No Valley Leaguer has won the award since it was created in 2000 (yet!).


While players can be added along the way, the initial list is narrowed down to three finalists in early June, with the winner announced after the College World Series.


Four former Valley Leaguers have been named to the watch list. Here they, along with stats (through Thursday, April 8):


  • Seth Caddell, East Carolina (Staunton 2018): .309/.383/.629 in 97 at-bats, with 22 runs, four doubles, nine home runs, and 32 RBIs
  • BT Riopelle, Coastal Carolina (Purcellville 2019): .316/.435/.500 in 76 at-bats, with five doubles, three home runs, and nine RBIs
  • Luke Robinson, Western Carolina (Waynesboro 2017, Winchester 2018): .360/.439/.685 in 89 at-bats, with 28 runs, eight doubles, seven home runs, and 27 RBIs
  • Nicholas Toney, Florida Atlantic (Strasburg 2019): .237/.324/.492 in 59 at-bats, with 10 runs scored, five home runs, and 16 RBIs